## THE GIST BROOKFIELD R-III SCHOOL DISTRICT OPEN SESSION -- REGULAR BOARD MEETING APRIL 17, 2018

The Brookfield R-III Board of Education, Brookfield, Missouri met in open session on Tuesday, April 18, 2017, beginning at 5:30 p.m. in the high school library. All board members were present: Jeff Vogel, Toni Fay, Jim McIntyre, Jered Wallace, Burnie Hicks, Galen Hicks, and Blake DeVoy.

President Vogel called the meeting to order and led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

The board approved the agenda as presented.

During public comments the following three individuals stated they would like to be added to the board's close session agenda to speak to the board individually regarding a personnel matter: Stacey Brown of 21910 Highway V, Brookfield; Ronnie Pickens of 224 East Wood Street, Brookfield; and Christina Gunn of 1007 Lincoln Street, Brookfield.

The board approved the Consent Agenda items as presented.

Dr. Collins reviewed the upcoming calendar dates with the board.

Dr. Collin reported to the board that the two 2017-18 Hurlbut winners were Suzanne Young (elementary) and Stephanie Berger (secondary). The other nominees were: Elementary – Lisa Sensenich and Jane Schmitz; Secondary – Connie Clawson and Jessica Dobrzenski. The winners will receive their award at the Hurlbut Banquet on May 11<sup>th</sup>.

Dr. Collins presented out-going President Jeff Vogel with a school brass bell for his service as a board member of the Brookfield R-III School District from 2009 to 2018. President Vogel shared some comments and thoughts regarding his time on the board and thanked everyone he worked with during his nine years on the board.

Motion was made, second and passed unanimously for the board to adjourn the meeting in order to reorganize the board due to the April 3, 2018 election.

The board voted unanimously to certify the election results regarding Proposition 2, which were:

<b>Prop 2 – Continuation</b>	of Tax Levy	
Linn County	Yes = 476	No = 184
<b>Chariton County</b>	Yes = 1	No = 0
Totals	Yes = 477	No + 184

Dr. Collins reported there were no election results to report regarding board candidates running for the board because no election was needed due to there being only two candidates running for the two open positions: Burnie Hicks and Mandy Wiedeman.

Becky Stephens administered the Oath of Office to Burnie Hicks and Mandy Wiedeman.

Jim McIntyre was elected board president, Toni Fay vice president, Jered Wallace treasurer, and Becky Stephens board secretary.

During program evaluation time, eight elementary staff members gave an overview of the PBS Summer Institute they will attend in June.

Dr. Collins reviewed the preliminary salary proposal and projections he and the teacher planning committee have been working on for the past few months. The preliminary salary proposal includes, on average, a 3.49% raise for staff members. It adds money to the base, as well as allows teachers to move to their correct step on the salary schedule after having lost some steps in prior years when members were frozen at their current level on the salary schedule. The preliminary recommendation also includes continuing to pay 100% of the base PPO at a 9.9% increase. Dr. Collins will make a final recommendation regarding salaries and the 2018-19 budget at future board meeting.

The board voted unanimously to approve the recommended updates from MSBA on the following policies:

IGBD At Risk Students
IKF Graduation Requirements
JHD Student Guidance and Counseling
JHDF Suicide Awareness and Prevention

Dr. Collins reminded the board that graduation is set for May 20, 2018 at 1 p.m. As in the past, the board will wear graduation robes.

Dr. Collins reported that it was time to renew our annual MSBA "Full Maintenance" Service Agreement, which obligates MSBA to keep our online and hard copy policy manual up to date and send us all necessary and recommended revisions to the manual due to state and federal legislation. The board voted unanimously to approve the annual MSBA "Full Maintenance" Service Agreement as presented by Dr. Collins.

Board reports were provided by all the administrators. Those presents gave verbal reports also: Nile Thudium, Denise Carlson and Tinna Croy.

The meeting adjourned at 6:31 p.m. and the board moved into closed session.